Gentle Persuasion by Cerella Sechrist

This is yet another book that brought me to an unfamiliar place to teach me about culture and life. This time, I joined Ophelia Reed in her visit to Hawaii to persuade the handsome Dane to come back to New York and rejoin the business and advertising world.

The book was part of the Harlequin Heartwarming series. Longer than a regular Harlequin novel at almost 400 pages, I felt myself rooting for both Ophelia and Dane. The supporting characters in the book like the people who helped Dane operate his Hawaii resort and coffee plantation were just as intriguing as the two main characters themselves. Since the book was longer than typical Harlequins, I had more of an opportunity to get to know the characters and soak in the details of Hawaiian paradise. Sechrist’s story visited destinations that had a deep cultural history. I enjoyed that aspect as much as the romance pieces of the story. As with most love stories, everything works out in the end. However, this book sent me on a roller coaster of all the emotions I like to feel as I sit down and read a good story.

My grandma and I share books. She belongs to book clubs and they get sent to her. Once she reads them, she gives them to me to read and we discuss them. We’ve been doing it ever since I was a little girl reading American Girl and Babysitters Club books. I look forward to reading more books in the Heartwarming series and would love to read Sechrist’s recently released love story about Paris.

Please note this book also did not have sex scenes. If you’re looking for a good story without the smut, take a look at this book. I think the other Heartwarming books are just as wholesome.

Standard

Leave a Reply

