Lost and Found by Sara Jakes

3 Star Review:

I hate writing less than stellar reviews. To be fair, Lost and Found got better as the book went on, but I wish it wasn’t filled with so much fluff. I think it would have been better if Ms. Jakes wrote more about the events themselves like her feelings going through all her troubles rather than all the analogies that seemed to go on and on.

I know we’re not all children of prominent ministers, but I feel like she used this to her advantage to sell the book. If it was anyone else trying to publish, it wouldn’t have happened. Mommy and Daddy bought her out of a lot of her troubles; paying for her college tuition and filling her condo with new furniture for example. She was lost and found because her father is who he is, not really by anything she has done for herself.

Like I said, people enjoy autobiographical pieces where a person talks about him or herself, not filling pages with analogies and you’re wondering “where the heck is she trying to go with this?” It’s one thing to be inspirational because of what you’ve overcome, but she made the same stupid mistakes over and over again. I found myself rolling my eyes at her and her immaturity.

She has the potential to be a good writer. This book just read more like a self-help than an autobiography. It wasn’t what I thought it was going to be, but if you’re starting out reading it, stick with it. The book does get better, just not worth a 4 or 5 star review.

Please note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Standard

Leave a Reply

