Someone Like You by Victoria Bylin

I enjoy inspirational romances because sometimes I don’t need to read in-depth sex scenes to understand the love and relationship between two people. The book Someone Like You was a story of faith and love, both things lost and found throughout the story. I loved Julia and Zeke, the two main characters. Neither person was perfect, along with the rest of the characters. Everyone had unique personalities. Hunter (Julia’s ex-boyfriend and father of her young son) was manipulative and her relationship with Hunter was much like my past relationship with my ex, minus the complications of a child.

Just like in real life, our faith falters sometimes. Things happen and we begin to question God’s presence in our lives. Through most of the novel, Zeke was questioning God, the same God he was raised to serve. Inevitably, something usually happens in our lives that makes us turn to God, even if we’ve never known Him well before. Also similar to real life, we come across people who teach us lessons, no matter how inconsequential the lessons may seem at the time. Aside from Zeke and Julia, I really enjoyed reading about George’s struggle and his turn to faith when he had nothing else to lean on. In my opinion, a good book needs characters I can relate to on some level. I was able to relate my life and experiences, as well as experiences of my loved ones, to characters in this story. It was an enjoyable read.

Please note: I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Bethany House, in exchange for an honest review.

Standard

Leave a Reply

