A Haven on Orchard Lane by Lawana Blackwell

I absolutely loved this novel. I’ve never read a book by Lawana Blackwell before and I don’t usually read historical fiction. The synopsis I read made the book sound moderately interesting, but it was so much more than I expected!

When Charlotte and her estranged daughter Rosalind enter Port Stilwell, readers immediately get drawn into the lives of the quirky characters in the small fishing town. There are so many subplots that made this book a joy for me to read. I found myself rolling my eyes at Mr. Clark who reminded me of so many people I know who think they’re the greatest thing since sliced bread. Mrs. Hooper, the town gossip, is so much like my future mother-in-law I almost cringed at the similarities.

You will not be sorry if you decide to read this book. It made me laugh and I wanted to keep reading the (mis)adventures, physical, and spiritual journeys of the residents in the tiny fishing town I came to love. Now if only Port Stilwell and the cottage on Orchard Lane were real places…

Disclaimer: I received a complementary copy of this book from the publisher Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

Standard

Leave a Reply

