The Cottage by Michael Phillips

Although I never read the first book in this series and it may have been helpful to acquaint myself with the characters, I never felt like I was lost reading this second installment of the Secrets of the Shetlands series.

This novel follows Loni, a young American woman who inherits Whales Reef, a fishing village in Scotland. Throughout the book, we watch as Loni meets the cast of characters in the small village; all the residents of the village have different reactions to the new “laird” and Loni fights the internal battle whether she wants to stay in Whales Reef or give it to the next person in line for the inheritance, and whether she was truly meant to be with Hugh, her boyfriend back in America.

I enjoyed this book because I felt like it was authentic. It took me a little while to understand the rough language of the fishermen and others in the village, I guess you’d call it the Scottish brogue, but it was so broken it was hard to comprehend at first. Before too long however, I started reading those parts of the story just like the rest of the book.

This was a book that shows the things we fight with internally. Of course not all of us inherit an island village, but everyone knows what it’s like to have internal conflict when it comes to making decisions, big and small. The book had portions of a spiritual journey, romance, mystery, and the longing to feel accepted. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would like to read the first book in the series and the others that will release in the future.

Please note: I received a complimentary copy of this novel from Bethany House Publishing. All views and opinions are my own and I was not compensated in any way to provide a positive review.

Standard

Leave a Reply

